Home » Bits » January 2012

three womenChronic Bits 

ChronicBits are a daily offering of news, entertainment, resources and helpful links. Have an idea for a Bit? Email us!

January 2012

We're thrilled to be a finalist in the WEGO Health Awards "Best in Show" category (1/30/2012)

Because it's all about community. Crossing our fingers for a win...but any of the other folks in the category are totally worthy, too! You can see finalists in all the categories here.

Join us for a LIVE chat today at 2pm CT (1/29/2012)

It's casual, babes - no set topic, just a bunch of sick chicks sharing resources and support. Which is kinda awesome, no? It's at the ChronicBabe Forum this Sunday, January 29 (that's today!) at 12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET, 4pm AT, 8pm GMT.

George Clooney, Jennifer Grey, Kathleen Turner, Jillian Michaels... (1/27/2012)

all have something in common with Editrix Jenni and 1/3 of the U.S. population: They live with chronic pain. Read a bit more about their stories. Interesting, no?

LIVE chat starts in an hour (1/26/2012)

It's casual, babes - no set topic, just a bunch of sick chicks sharing resources and support. Which is kinda awesome, no? It's at the ChronicBabe Forumthis Thursday, January 26 (that's today!) at 6pm PT, 7pm MT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET, 10pm AT. (That's 11AM on Friday in Sydney/Melbourne.)

Join us for a LIVE chat TONIGHT at 8pm CST (1/26/2012)

It's casual, babes - no set topic, just a bunch of sick chicks sharing resources and support. Which is kinda awesome, no? It's at the ChronicBabe Forum this Thursday, January 26 (that's today!) at 6pm PT, 7pm MT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET, 10pm AT. (That's 11AM on Friday in Sydney/Melbourne.)

ChronicBabe is part of Grand Rounds at USA Today (1/25/2012)

We're honored to be part of this week's Grand Rounds, hosted by USA Today and organized by our pal Dr. Val. And we're in great company! Please check out our section, Grand Rounds Begins: Health Tips, and all the other great sections: True Stories, Myth-Busters & Controversies, and Healthcare Costs.   

LIVE chat at the forum in an hour - 2pm CT (1/22/2012)

It's winter in the Northern Hemisphere, which makes Rachel the Midtern think of cooking and baking comfort food. Of course, with type 2 diabetes, she needs to watch the carbs and she knows many of you live with food allergies and other restrictions. Let's talk about food: what helps and hurts our conditions, what we look to for comfort with a healthy twist, and food trends towards the unprocessed and local sourced. Join us in an hour for our live chat at the forum: at 12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET, 4pm AT, 8pm GMT.

Why girls hate each other, and why we don't need to. MUST-WATCH VIDEO (1/21/2012)

On recommendation from my pal Cinnamon, Editrix Jenni watched this video from JennaMarbles today and must say, WATCH IT NOW and share it with everyone! It's 5 minutes of awesome. 

Want a free sinus rinse bottle or neti pot? (1/21/2012)

Editrix Jenni swears by hers! Get a free one when you become a fan of NeilMed on Facebook and take their 3-minute online survey. Small price to pay for $15ish worth of something AWESOME. Jenni just did so she has an extra bottle for her travel kit.

Deadline tonight: Blog carnival! You know you want to be in it! (1/20/2012)

We're gathering final entries today for the next blog carnival, which is all about winter wellness and fitness. It's easy during yucky winter weather season to become more sedentary, get the blues, and generally let our health slide. How will you approach life differently this winter to achieve some of the goals you've set? Share your practical and inspirational ideas to help others! Send me your related blog post (or someone else's that you like) by 10pm tonight! Get all the details on how to submit.

LIVE chat at the Forum in an hour - 8pm CT (1/19/2012)

It's winter in the Northern Hemisphere, which makes Rachel the Midtern think of cooking and baking comfort food. Of course, with type 2 diabetes, she needs to watch the carbs and she knows many of you live with food allergies and other restrictions. Let's talk about food: what helps and hurts our conditions, what we look to for comfort with a healthy twist, and food trends towards the unprocessed and local sourced. Join us in an hour for our live chat at the forum: at 6pm PT, 7pm MT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET, 10pm AT (Fri Jan 20 at 11am in Sydney and Melbourne); Or join us on Sunday, Jan. 22 at 12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET, 4pm AT, 8pm GMT.

live chat at the forum this thursday: food and illness (1/17/2012)

From Rachel the Midtern: It's winter in the Northern Hemisphere, which makes me think of cooking and baking comfort food. Of course, with type 2 diabetes, I need to watch the carbs and I know many of you live with food allergies and other restrictions. Let's talk about food: what helps and hurts our conditions, what we look to for comfort with a healthy twist, and food trends towards the unprocessed and local sourced. Join me for either (or both!) of the following chats: Thurs Jan 19 at 6pm PT, 7pm MT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET, 10pm AT (Fri Jan 20 at 11am in Sydney and Melbourne); and Sun Jan 22 at 12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET, 4pm AT, 8pm GMT.

Join us in a couple hours for a LIVE chat at the Forum (1/15/2012)

Fabulous Midtern Rachel will host the next formal chat at the Forum on Sunday, January 15. There's no set topic this week, just chit-chat. Huzzah! Times: 12pm PST, 1pm MST, 2pm CST, 3pm EST, 4pm AST, 8pm GMT. 

Join us for a LIVE chat on Sunday, January 15, 2pm CT (1/12/2012)

Fabulous Midtern Rachel will host the next formal chat at the Forum on Sunday, January 15. There's no set topic this week, just chit-chat. Huzzah! Times: 12pm PST, 1pm MST, 2pm CST, 3pm EST, 4pm AST, 8pm GMT. 

The importance of rest: Lisa Copen and Rest Ministries (1/11/2012)

Lisa shared a message recently about her need for rest. And after all, it's not surprising: she runs the mega-popular Rest Minstries chronic illness blog all by herself. Read her post as a reminder that we all need to take good care of ourselves sometimes, even if it means letting go of projects we love for a brief period. XOXO, Lisa!

Doctor V hosts Grand Rounds and shares some unique online blogging voices (1/11/2012)

Fabulous! Count on Dr. V to always host a great Grand Rounds. You'll learn some new stuff and have fun reading fresh voices, guaranteed! 

Join us in an hour for a LIVE chat at the forum about anxiety (1/9/2012)

Mid-Term and lead forum moderator Rachel B will host a specialized chat for those of us who manage chronic anxiety issues - from generalized anxiety disorder to PTSD to social anxiety to OCD to severe phobias. Let's chat about how we deal with anxiety in our everyday lives and how it can hurt us...as well as help us.

It starts in one hour, at 6pm PT, 7pm MT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET (11AM in Sydney and Melbourne on Tuesday, January 10). P.S. If there is demand, She can run this special chat the following Sunday at a better time for UK/Europe Babes, so keep us posted if you're interested!

Time-sensitive: FDA announces recall of numerous pain medications from Novartis (1/9/2012)

If you take Excedrin, Bufferin, Gas-X or other medications from Novartis, check this post at Nip Pain in the Bud, which has info on the FDA recall today.

Correction: anxiety chat at the forum is NOT this morning (1/9/2012)

Call it human error: We announced the anxiety chat incorrectly. It's happening TONIGHT at 8PM CT. 

Tomorrow: LIVE chat at the forum about anxiety issues (1/8/2012)

Mid-Term and lead forum moderator Rachel B will host a specialized chat for those of us who manage chronic anxiety issues - from generalized anxiety disorder to PTSD to social anxiety to OCD to severe phobias. Let's chat about how we deal with anxiety in our everyday lives and how it can hurt us...as well as help us.

This chat will occur on Monday, January 9, at 6pm PT, 7pm MT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET (11AM in Sydney and Melbourne on Tuesday, January 10). P.S. If there is demand, She can run this special chat the following Sunday at a better time for UK/Europe Babes, so keep us posted if you're interested!

Special: LIVE chat about anxiety issues at the FORUM on January 9 (1/6/2012)

Mid-Term and lead forum moderator Rachel B will host a specialized chat for those of us who manage chronic anxiety issues - from generalized anxiety disorder to PTSD to social anxiety to OCD to severe phobias. Let's chat about how we deal with anxiety in our everyday lives and how it can hurt us...as well as help us.

This chat will occur on Monday, January 9, at 6pm PT, 7pm MT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET (11AM in Sydney and Melbourne on Tuesday, January 10). P.S. If there is demand, She can run this special chat the following Sunday at a better time for UK/Europe Babes, so keep us posted if you're interested!

Editrix Jenni's a judge in the WEGO Health Activist Awards (1/6/2012)

I'm super-excited to be a judge in this awards contest, which honors many incredible bloggers. Here are all the judges, and if I could find a master list of all the nominees I would love to share it; if you know where that's located, send it along, OK? XO Jenni

Confused about medical bills? Jean Poole has the answers. Be a money-savvy babe. Download and listen today.
pssst! knock before entering...